The Spiritual Meaning of the Number Five

5-sided star on Italian war memorial
The 5 pointed-star on a war memorial represents harmony from conflict

The number five is believed to be a magical number, but ultimately represents human nature. It is associated with the planet Mars which augurs harmony reached through conflict. The five therefore represents instability in your life that needs resolving.

In tarot, and ancient tradition believed to have been used by the Pharaohs of Egypt and use hermetic symbols, fives are indicative of a problem, but also offers solutions which can be developed through passion, emotion, ideas or work. Lessons from the five, humble, teach and mature.

Five of the 10 commandments teach us about our relationship with God, whilst the latter five teach us of the laws of nature – our true selves and the moral qualities we should adopt to behave graciously towards others. The five therefore represents the need for inner-wisdom and the lessons that are there to be learned.

The five in religion

The five features predominantly as a 5-pointed star in eastern and western cultures. In the east it is a symbol of good fortune. In the west, it is typically found on war memorials. The five pointed star is a pentacle, or as it is more widely known, the pentagram.

The pentagram of course is associated with Devil worship – also incorrectly identified as “occultism” – and thus considered an evil symbol. However, like all symbols, it can be used to perform good or evil. It is not the symbol that is evil, but the person using it.

The pentagram has a positive side just like all symbols and represents harmony when the fifth point is facing upwards. This point represents spirit and is a symbol of positive energy. It is only when the point is at a downward trajectory as seen in dark magic circles, that the energy is negative.

Pentagram lamp
Up facing pentgram with pentagon in centre

The other four points represent the four elements, the fifth element being a connection with the creator. Each point also recognises five of the seven virtues mankind should adopt towards one another to live in harmony; generosity, purity, respect, courtesy and mercy.

In Hindu symbolism, the five tringles that make up the five points are collectively called the jnanendriyas – knowledge, senses, organs, breathing exercises, and pure consciousness. Like we see in the Christian tradition, the pentacle in Hindu countries also identifies with four principles that when followed enable the initiate to connect with his true self – and bring about the fifth element: enlightenment.

The five in ancient Celt

The pentacle is also associated with the ancient Celts of Great Britain and Ireland – and thanks to disinformation by church authorities since the dark ages, is another reason people have been led to believe that paganism was a form of Devil worship rather than a reflection of the inner self.

Ancient civilisations all over the world were much more in tune with inner-knowing than we are today and the four outward facing points each represent one the principle elements of nature; earth, air, water and fire. The fifth upward facing point represents the spirit – the godhead or fifth element.

If fives keep appearing in your life, it is time to learn the virtues you need to attain self-knowledge. Assess the current problems in your life and try to determine what attitudes or views on life you have that are causing you problems. Once you identify the error of your ways, dissolve the ego and banish limiting beliefs so you can adopt new attitudes and a broader view of reality.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s