Category Archives: chakras

The 12 Chakra System

Most people are familiar with the seven body chakras, that run up the spine. But Ayurveda yogis say there are a further five chakras outside the body and beyond which we can tap into and use for advanced healing. There are actually 22 chakras, but for now we are just going to concentrate on the vital 12 energy centres.

12 Chakra system
There are five outer body chakras that connect us with the Higher Self

Continue reading The 12 Chakra System

10-Minute Meditation to Balance Your Chakras

Buddha with chakras

This is a very simple meditation to open and balance your chakras. You can do it ten minutes.

The chakra system is seven energy centres that flow up from the base of the spine to the crown of the head. These energy points facilitate specific areas of the body and are responsible for health and healing.

Furthermore, the health of the chakras is determined by our thoughts, emotions and actions. They are essentially a reflection of how we feel about ourselves and typically fall out of sync because of negative emotions and personality traits. Continue reading 10-Minute Meditation to Balance Your Chakras

Opening Your Heart Chakra And Learning How to Love

It’s Not You, It’s Me!

Heart-shaped ballon loose in the street

Do your relationships keep failing? Some relationships are just not meant to be, whereas others are unnecessarily severed because as a species we take one another for granted.

We forget to love, fall out of love, struggle to love.

Humans thrive on compassion and acceptance; and we desperately crave this attention from others. When we don’t receive it, we feel hurt and can be antagonistic towards others – especially those we are most close to.

Is any of this sounding familiar? Continue reading Opening Your Heart Chakra And Learning How to Love

Heart Chakra Meditation

Green Heart Chakra
Image Credit: Dora Allis

The heart chakra is the fourth vital energy point and is the Chi centre of the seven chakra system. It represents feeling, compassion and emotion and helps brings balance into your life.

An open heart chakra gives you the capacity for love, and allows you to give and receive more freely. The Sanskrit word for the heart chakra is Anahata which means “unstruck”. It is therefore said that the heart can sing without being played.

The Anahata is depicted as a green twelve-petalled lotus flower and is associated with the colour green – the colour of nature which symbolises growth, harmony and fertility. Continue reading Heart Chakra Meditation

Sacral Chakra Meditation

Porto Alegre sunsetThe sacral chakra, also known as the spleen chakra represents the element of water and regulates emotional and sexual impulses together with creativity and your ability to develop social skills.

Located between the groin and the belly-button, the spleen chakra is the second of the seven primary energy centres and is associated with the colour orange.

In Sanskrit, the sacral chakra is called Svadhishthana – the dwelling place of the self. Regarded as the creative energy centre, it is from here that we give birth to passions, ambitions and dreams. Continue reading Sacral Chakra Meditation